TWD: Baking with Julia: Whole Wheat Rolls

The September 18, 2012, recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, is Whole Wheat Loaves located on pages 83-84.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Craig J. Kominiak.

Permission granted to use photo by: Tammy Pita
Bio info from: www.erikarecord.com

Craig J. Kominiak is a veteran of the United States Navy. He has thirty years of Artisan Bread and pastry baking experience. Craig received an Associate’s degree from the Culinary Institute of America in 1985 and has managed some of the Tri State Area’s prestigious eateries; Ecce Panis, Fresh Direct, Marriott Marquis of NYC, Vieira’s Bakery, Inc.

Craig starred as a featured chef with Julia Childs in a PBS special.
He also submitted several bread recipes for Julia Child’s book; Baking with Julia (1996). Since 2007, Craig has served as one of Erika Record’s experienced Sales and Consultant team members.

Host bakers: (recipes can be found on their blogs)

Michele of Veggie Num Nums

Teresa of The Family That Bakes Together

Where to buy malt extract which was needed for this recipe?

I found a place in Freehold, NJ which stocked it. Personally, I prefer not to buy online if I can help it. So, I was thrilled to find this store. When I stopped by, JoEllen Ford, owner, was very helpful with my purchase. First, she poured the malt extract in a container for me, then weighed the product. Check out these vats where the extract is kept. Pretty cool!

I paid $3.33 for 1.5 ounces of malt extract. You can purchase a quart, about 3 pounds, for about $9.

JoEllen mentioned that remaining grains, from beer making sessions, are available to those who want it, free of charge. She also provides a bread recipe! Call her about it if you’re interested.

The Brewer’s Apprentice
865 Route 33 Business
Suite 4
Freehold, NJ 07728
Tel: 732 863-9411

Store Hours:
Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 1pm – 8pm
Saturday & Sunday: 10am – 4pm

Click: to see Photos of Store ~ The Brewer’s Apprentice

Professional bakers use ingredients that are not necessarily available for home use. Malt extract  happens to be one of those ingredients. The upside…I learned something new about malt extract. I’m all for that!

~ ~ ~ ~

Here are photos of my Whole Wheat Rolls baking process:

This recipe makes two, 1 ¾ pound loaves. I opted to make rolls. Baking bread tends to be viewed by many with trepidation. Here I’ll be showing my steps in making the bread rolls. It benefits to see a recipe process in photos, especially for visual learners.

The shaping process is for making rolls, not loaves.

MIXING AND KNEADING:
Attach a dough hook to mixer before mixing.

Pour some of the water, (½ cup), (105-115 degrees Fahrenheit), in a mixer bowl.
Add the yeast and honey. Wisk to blend. Let yeast mixture rest, about 5 minutes. (I do this process with the bowl NOT attached to the mixer).

FLOURS:
While yeast mixture is activating, in another bowl, combine 3 ½ cups of the bread flour and the 3 cups of whole wheat flour. Set aside.

Back to the yeast mixture:

Add remaining 1¾ cups water, oil, malt extract, and half of the flour mixture to the yeast mixture.

At this point, I attach the mixer bowl to the mixer.
Turn the mixer on low speed to avoid flour kicking up and getting all over the place.

Stop mixer. Add the remaining combined flours. Start mixer. Increase the mixer speed to medium and beat. Stop to scrape down the bowl and hook as needed, until dough comes together. (If the dough does not come together, add up to 2 tablespoons more white or bread flour.)

Add salt. Continue to beat and knead at medium speed for 10 minutes, until dough is smooth and elastic.

Optional: You can mix the dough in the machine for half that time, then, knead it by hand on a lightly floured surface for 8 to 10 minutes.

This dough will be a tad sticky even after proper and sufficient kneading.

FIRST RISE (PROOF 1):
Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface and shape it into a ball.

Place dough in a large oiled bowl (must hold double the amount of dough).

Invert the dough to cover its entire surface with oil.

Cover the bowl tightly with plastic wrap or a lid.
Let dough rest at room temperature until it doubles in bulk, about 1-1/2 hours.
Below you can see starting points, in quarts and liters.

DOUBLED IN BULK (PROOF 1)

SHAPING THE DOUGH (after PROOF 1):

I placed parchment paper on a baking sheet and oiled the paper lightly.

AFTER PROOF 1:
Deflate the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured work surface.

I placed deflated dough on floured board. I cut off pieces of dough and weighed them to ensure uniform sizes. These weighed in at an average 8.5 ounces. They ended up being large rolls. Next time, I’ll weigh them at 4-4.5 ounces each. It was my first time making rolls…what can I say…  ;)

SECOND RISE (PROOF 2):
I shaped and placed the rolls (seam side down) on the oiled parchment baking sheet. I brushed the rolls lightly with oil; placed plastic wrap over the rolls.

Video: Shaping Bread Rolls

Allow rolls to rise at room temperature until they double in size again, about 1 hour.

While the breads rise, center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

BAKING THE BREAD:

Bake for about 35 minutes, or until they are golden and an instant-read thermometer plunged into the center of the roll (turn a roll out and plunge the thermometer through the bottom of the bread) measures 200 degrees Fahrenheit.

Remove the rolls from the baking pan as soon as they come from the oven.

Cool rolls on cooling racks.

Cut when rolls are almost completely cool.

Here is a cross-section of a roll:

STORING:
Once completely cool, the rolls can be kept in a brown paper bag for a day for two. For longer storage, wrap the rolls airtight and freeze for up to a month. Thaw, still wrapped, at room temperature.

Hope you enjoyed your bread as much as I did…bread baking is my zen

~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Had to share this…A toddler’s moment of happiness…

this is the CUTEST video ever.

I guarantee that it will make you smile…alot…

Carmen

Sometimes SAVORY…cooking is art revealed

NOTE: DESSERT recipes can be found on my wordpress blog, Baking is my Zen. Going forward, all SAVORY recipes will be posted on this blog, sometimes SAVORY.

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About sometimes SAVORY

My passion is baking...but, I also like to cook. I have a dessert blog called, Baking is my Zen, with Wordpress and Blogger. Currently using wordpress, but, there are many recipe photo tutorials on the blogger account. http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com http://bakingismyzen.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Breads, TWD: Baking with Juia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Whole Wheat Rolls

  1. Beautiful post Carmen! Thank you for all the information shared. This bread recipe sure made wonderful rolls! Blessings my friend, Catherine at http://www.praycookblog.com

  2. Teresa says:

    Those rolls are perfect, Carmen! I like that you were able to get a small quantity of the malt extract from the brewer’s supply. I’ve heard that some places only sell large containers.

    thefamilythatbakestogether.wordpress.com

    • Teresa,

      I can consider myself fortunate to have been sold a small amount. Frankly, if I had to buy a large quantity, I would have skipped it. And, I think molasses was more than plenty…good enough. Sometimes, I like to explore new things…if you were close by, I’d give you some of the malt extract. ;)

      Carmen

  3. looks like you had fun with this recipe! nice batch of rolls….they’d be great for a sandwich or turkey burger.

  4. The rolls look perfect. This was a fun recipe to try. Great presentation. The little Elvis fan in the video is priceless.

  5. Piebird says:

    Looks like you have a few “petit pains” for the future. Nice idea!

Comments are closed.