TWD: Baking with Julia: Bagels (with Lox and the fixings)

October 16: Today’s savory recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, is Bagels. (pages 87-90)

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is Laura Groveman.

Host baker: Heather of Heather’s Bytes (recipe can be found on her blog)

Heather’s Bytes

I added two tablespoons black pepper as the recipe indicated. I think it would have been better with just one tablespoon. The bagel was ok. I will keep testing other recipes.

I love the simplicity of this sandwich, not to mention how delicious it is.

~     ~     ~     ~     ~

The Coffee Coupon story…kindness at its best

I’ll start from the beginning. I went to DMV. Parked my car and paid $1 for a one hour parking spot. I needed more documents. Left DMV to go home to retrieve the documents needed. As I approached my car, someone was looking for a parking spot. I walked over to the driver and offered my paid parking spot, which had 55 minutes left on the meter. She gratefully accepted the parking receipt.

Next day…I was making whole wheat bread. As I gathered the ingredients, I noticed I did not have enough yeast. I went to the store to buy it. I’m not a coupon clipper. I rely on the front page of the supermarket flyer for sales. That’s it for me. I don’t have time to clip, clip, clip. Coffee was on sale. I thought, what the heck, I’m here anyway. I put four cans of coffee in my shopping cart. As I proceeded to the baking aisle to buy yeast, someone was feverishly making her way to me, shouting, ‘wait, wait’! I was startled when she grabbed my shoulder. I was so focused on finding my yeast, you see. She excitedly said to me, “I saw you putting coffee cans in your cart. I have a coupon for $1 that you can use”. I gratefully accepted the coupon. I love this beautiful encounter that happened on my Sunday morning.
Kindness at its best.

Sometimes SAVORY…cooking is art revealed

Carmen

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About sometimes SAVORY

My passion is baking...but, I also like to cook. I have a dessert blog called, Baking is my Zen, with Wordpress and Blogger. Currently using wordpress, but, there are many recipe photo tutorials on the blogger account. http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com http://bakingismyzen.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Breads, Sandwiches, TWD: Baking with Juia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Bagels (with Lox and the fixings)

  1. Heather says:

    Your bagels look delicious, especially with the sandwich add-ons! Thank you for baking along!

  2. Great looking sandwich! I love it when strangers are kind like that.

  3. Great stories, Carmen. Your bagel sandwich looks so inviting and perfectly lovely!

  4. A coupon – paid forward. Lovely story. The bagel sandwich looks fantastic.

  5. Kindness matters! 🙂 Hey, I used your tip with the yeast this time around…worked beautifully so thank you!

  6. Cathleen says:

    Tasty looking bagel sandwich!

  7. Your bagels look great! I sat this one out, just not that interested. Maybe another day 🙂 You did an awesome job! Blessings, Catherine

Comments are closed.