TWD: Baking with Julia: Focaccia with Thyme

Focaccia

The February 5th savory recipe selection for the baking group, Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia, found on pages 143-145 is

Focaccia.

This recipe is from the book, Baking with Julia, by Dorie Greenspan.
The contributing baker for this recipe is
Craig Kominiak.

Host blogger: (recipes can be found on her blog)
Sharmini of Wandering Through

football

Superbowl XLVII

February 3, 2013

Ravens win the Lombardi Trophy

Go Ravens!

Baked the Focaccia Bread for dinner on Super Bowl Sunday.

Instead of rolls, I opted to make a sheet pan of Focaccia.
Found a tip on video (starts at 5.35) by Anne Burrell, a Foodnetwork Chef. When dimpling the dough, tear into the dough to ensure the uneven look. If not, the indentations will be subtle or disappear when baked. Focaccia should look rugged. You WANT to see nooks and crannies and unevenness.

I oiled a half sheet pan (18x13x1) with ¼ cup olive oil. Placed the dough on the oiled pan. Then, turned the dough over to oil other side. Proceeded to dimple the dough with my fingers and made cuts into the dough. Once done with the dimpling, I spread a bit more oil over top.

~ Ready for the Oven ~

Focaccia
For flavoring, I mixed together dried thyme, garlic powder and black pepper and sprinkled it on the dough. Then to finish, sprinkled sea salt over all.

~ Just out of the Oven ~

Focaccia - just baked

I purchased Focaccia once and liked it. It’s my first time baking this flat Italian bread…so good!

Focaccia with Thyme

My family LOVED the Focaccia bread.

…and for dessert…we enjoyed a homemade Apple Pie I baked.
Recipe on my dessert blog, Baking is my Zen.

Super Bowl 47-Apple Pie Dessert

Enjoy the savory and sweet recipes…

It’s my last post  baking with the TWD:Baking with Julia group. I’ve got other plans and need to make room for them. Look forward to my new endeavors…

Sometimes SAVORY…cooking is art revealed

Carmen

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About Baking is my Zen

Love to bake...it is my peaceful time. ~ Baking is my Zen ~
This entry was posted in Breads, TWD: Baking with Juia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to TWD: Baking with Julia: Focaccia with Thyme

  1. Sara says:

    Beautiful focaccia! I’m thinking I definitely should have just made one big loaf – it looks fantastic! And it has such a nice texture. Nice job!

  2. melimelocooks says:

    Your foccacia looks beautiful!!
    I enjoyed this recipe too, it’s definitely a keeper!!!

  3. Beautiful bread! I didn’t bake this week, but it will definitely be on my to-do list!

  4. Great foccacia and pie!

  5. saucygander says:

    Wow, fantastic looking bread! No Superbowl in Australia, but we had friends over and this was a popular lunch.

  6. Great looking focaccia. It was our first time making this as well, and we loved it. Your pie looks delicious.

  7. Cathleen says:

    Looks beautiful Carmen. I too went with one large sheet pan and dimpled rather than slashing the dough. Your apple pie looks delicious as well.

  8. Your apple pie looks amazing and I am sure tasted great. I will check out the recipe for it for certain! Your focaccia looks perfect too!

Comments are closed.