Mozzarella Wraps are so gooey good!

1 mozzarella wraps

Mozzarella Wraps

Made Mozzarella Wraps on Thursday, the Fourth of July. I had planned on taking photos as I made the recipe. But, our family barbecue was in full swing. If I took pictures, the appetizer would have ended up a dinner item instead of an appetizer item. Taking photos while cooking takes time. Therefore, the camera was set to the side…and I got cooking…The Mozzarella Wraps were a hit! My family LOVED them. They liked them better than the bread crumb covered mozzarella sticks version.

Fast forward two days…Saturday. I made the Mozzarella Wraps again. Sooo good!
It’s now my new ‘go to’ appetizer. It’s very easy to assemble. I also like the fact that they are made with a small amount of oil. It is not deep fried.

Egg Rolls are so delicious. I especially like the dough. Using the wrappers to wrap cheese is genius.

eggroll wrappers

I seasoned my wraps with salt, garlic powder, black pepper and red pepper flakes.
Different use of spices introduces an international flare to the wraps.
So, go wild and try different flavor profiles.

spices-salt, black pepper, crushed red pepper flakes

I used mozzarella cheese, but using semi-hard cheeses
would work well when making the wraps.

mozzarella cheese cut into sticks

There are three major steps to making the Mozzarella Wraps:

1 Rolling the Wraps

Mozzarella Wrap - process

2 Cooking the Wraps

cooking mozzarella wraps

3 Draining the Wraps on Paper Towels

paper towel lined plate

When rolling the wraps, keep egg roll wrappers covered with a damp paper towel to keep them from drying while building the Mozzarella Wraps.

Mozzarella Wraps can be kept warm during a party by placing them on a baking sheet in a low oven (200 degrees Fahrenheit) until ready to serve.

3 mozzarella wraps

I discovered this recipe while watching the TV show, The Chew. Clinton Kelly is the contributor of the recipe, Mozzarella Sticks.

I changed the recipe name to Mozzarella Wraps for my blog. It just seemed more fitting.

You’ll love the gooey cheese oozing out of the wrap…
let’s go to the kitchen and make some Mozzarella Wraps…

MOZZARELLA WRAPS are so gooey good

2 mozzarella wraps

Contributed by : Clinton Kelly (TV show: The Chew)
Adapted by Carmen Ortiz

skill level: easy
time: approximately 30 min
servings: 20
cost: $

INGREDIENTS
1 pound Mozzarella Cheese (cut into 1/2-inch by 4-inch logs)
15 Egg Roll Wrappers
Salt
Pepper
Garlic Powder (my addition)
Red Pepper Flakes (my addition)
Water for brushing
Olive Oil or vegetable oil

Marinara Sauce (for dipping)
Parmesan (for grating) optional

DIRECTIONS:

WRAP THE CHEESE. Place an egg roll wrapper in front of you like a diamond.
Brush the surface of the wrapper lightly with water.
Lay a piece of a log-shaped cheese on the lower third of the diamond.
Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes. (choose spices you like)
Roll the cheese in the wrapper half-way.
Fold in the corners of the wrapper like a burrito.
Continue rolling and press to seal the edges.
Repeat process until all cut cheese is wrapped.

COOK THE CHEESE WRAPS. Place a non-stick pan (I used a cast iron pan) over medium-high heat and add about 1/8-inch of oil to the pan, or just enough to coat.
When oil is hot enough (when it shimmers), place several mozzarella wraps in the pan.
Let cook 1 to 2 minutes per side, or until golden brown all around.

DRAIN WRAPS ON PAPER TOWELS. Remove wraps from pan to a paper towel lined plate. Season immediately with salt. (I skip this step)

SERVE. Allow to cool slightly before serving.
Serve with Marinara Sauce for dipping.
Top with grated parmesan (optional).

4 mozzarella wrapsmozzarella wrap cross section

~     ~     ~     ~    ~     ~     ~     ~     ~     ~     ~      ~

Weeks ago, a BEAUTIFUL RAINBOW appeared in the sky…the colors were so vibrant and beautiful. By the time I took the shot with my smartphone, the colors were fading.

Will be learning to sing and play on guitar, Somewhere Over the Rainbow by Eva Cassidy. This version by Eva is so powerful…take a listen…

Somewhere Over The Rainbow (Lyrics) by Eva Cassidy
YouTube Music Video by ISIS SKY

somewhere over the rainbow ~

Carmen

Sometimes SAVORY…cooking is art revealed

NOTE: Dessert recipes can be found on
my dessert blog, Baking is my Zen.

Photography by Carmen Ortiz ~All Rights Reserved.
Not to be used without permission.

About sometimes SAVORY

My passion is baking...but, I also like to cook. I have a dessert blog called, Baking is my Zen, with Wordpress and Blogger. Currently using wordpress, but, there are many recipe photo tutorials on the blogger account. http://bakingismyzen.wordpress.com http://bakingismyzen.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Cheese and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mozzarella Wraps are so gooey good!

  1. Yum! Love mozzarella wraps!

Comments are closed.